My Studio, the beach.

iona art residencies

P1150896

Now into the second week, I am finding subjects to work from and places to be.

Today I spent nearly all day on the beach. The residency is based on the north of the island and so it seemed sensible to work from here which makes carrying my paints and wet work easier. If I had chosen to base myself at St Columba’s Bay, at the very south of the island, it would have produced a logistical nightmare! The most exhausting part of the whole thing is bringing six, or this afternoon, ten, wet paintings back to the byre in a rain storm or howling gale! I have given up trying not to smudge anything, get sand in my paint or avoid a drip. It has all become part of the process.

At night I trudge up to my hut with the sound of the surf in my ears. Today…

View original post 167 more words

Leave a Reply

