The Secret Lives of Midges.

We are on holiday in Italy as those of you who follow me on Instagram will know. I hadn’t intended to add anything to my blog whilst away, after all we are meant to be on holiday.
However, I have been persuaded otherwise in order to share with you something of another passion I have, the conservation and respect for Wild Places. As you will all realise, I am not a signed up believer in development necessarily meaning progress. In fact, where we live it is most often landscape degradation on an industrial scale, presumably in the belief that there is so much land, a little intervention wont hurt. But it only takes a very small alteration by man to have a disproportionate effect and unfortunately the pursuit of profit overrides all.
So it was with considerable amazement that I received a number of messages whilst away, telling of my appearance first on a trailer, broadcast on Farming Today and then on BBC Scotland giving an interview about midges; the bane of our lives especially as gardeners but an inherent part of living on the west coast. I still have to hear this interview, as i player is not available outside the United Kingdom so await my return with interest! Listening to the trailer makes me sound like the midges only and best friend but I will wait and see. What I do know is that as we live in a temperate rain forest, one almost unique to the world, I am sure the midge must fit there somewhere, perhaps quite near the bottom of the food chain. My view is therefore that we must put up with them as we live in such a rare and special place and we need to regard and respect the natural resource we are so lucky to have.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b06j0ymn

http://www.bbc.co.uk/search?q=The%20Secret%20Life%20of%20Midges&suggid=urn%3Abbc%3Aprogrammes%3Ab06jh4ss

2 thoughts on “The Secret Lives of Midges.

    1. Umbria actually Simon! I suppose they are the top of the food chain in that they eat us but something must eat them otherwise what are they for? They cant be just to torment us? Love from us both. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

