Leaving Shetland

When I got home, I began to write about the last week of my residency at The Booth. Different, as I was no longer alone but immensely rewarding as we explored some of the more distant places; places I had saved to go to with a photographer friend who came to join me for the last week to work on images for an exhibition in September. Not only did we visit Yell, Unst and Eshaness but most exciting of all, Fair Isle, where I was taken as a birthday present; the best birthday present ever. A flight in a four seater plane the twelve miles south, to stay for the night at the Bird Observatory. It was completely fantastic!

Looking back at what I began, I have decided instead to leave the photographs to tell the story. I made scores of quick drawings to complete at home, but it is only now, three weeks later that I have found time and energy to begin. As when I returned from Eigg, I was immediately struck down by a fearsome cold and have not been well enough to continue my work. The enthralling light, space and clarity of Shetland faded in my memory as I lay in bed, ill, and so to write a diary of where we went and what we saw would seem rather tepid now. I will leave the images to speak for themselves.

Culswick

IMG_5257
Culswick

IMG_5293

IMG_5301

IMG_5307

IMG_5319
Annifirth

IMG_5340

IMG_5353
The Ferry to Yell

IMG_5361

IMG_5378

IMG_5387

IMG_5407

IMG_5422

IMG_5431
A Day on Unst

IMG_5464

IMG_5472

IMG_5503

IMG_5509
Stenness

IMG_5481

IMG_5490

IMG_5480

IMG_5499

Dore Holm, Esha Ness

IMG_5526
Eshaness Lighthouse

IMG_5545 IMG_5574

 

4 thoughts on “Leaving Shetland

Leave a Reply

